I thought that it was interesting that he stated that he did not see newspapers or broadcast news fading out any time soon.  These days, everyone is panicking over what seems to be an inevitable loss of those two aspects of the industry.  For me, this means that although I need to prepare for a changing world, some of the basics are still very important to keep in mind.  There are still functioning newspapers that I could very potentially be working for someday and I need the skills necessary to work in that environment.

I also like the optimism of this train of thought.  If the people in the news industry do not have faith in what we do, then absolutely nobody will.  It is important for us to promote what we do and to continue to remind audiences that we provide an incredibly valuable service, even if we sometimes seem a bit dated.

The second thing that I found to be very interesting was his statement that the very definition of news is changing.  This is something that I tend to be very skeptical of.  I think that the idea of citizen participation in news could have the potential to be beneficial, but I think that it also carries huge amounts of risk for this very reason.

Reporters have long worked to create a communal set of ideals and standards.  There have certainly been times and occasions in which journalists or entire organizations have fallen short of what was expected, but I think that these standards tend to keep journalists on a relatively straight path.  Those who are not dedicated to these standards and are not true and trained journalists could more than change the definition of news and how it is delivered, but warp it beyond recognition.

